Tracing the Origins of Rh-Negative Blood Through Jewish Ancestry

Standard

Secret GenealogyI remember the day I saw my family surname on a list of Sephardic Jewish names. The name was listed as being from the ancient Spanish kingdom of Murcia. One letter was different, they used an “i” instead of an “e” but there was no mistaking it, the pronunciation was identical. But what did it mean? Could there be a connection? Of all the countries my patriarchal ancestors hailed from, Spain was not one of them. But it reinforced my suspicions that the family may have been Jewish many generations back.

From the regions that surround her, Spain has attracted people to settle her lands. The Moors controlled Spain for several centuries. When we think of Spaniards we might picture a dark-haired and dark-eyed people with olive skin but blue eyes and fair skin like that of many Germans and Scandinavians represent the Spanish people, as do others. But an old encyclopedia states that “many Murcians… are very dark — a legacy of Moorish ancestors.” Well there you go. When the Moors, with their chieftain Tan’k, overran the Spanish kingdom in 711, there were Berbers among them. Natives of northern Africa, Berbers have a population high in Rh-negative blood.

There are a variety of explanations why someone has Rh-negative blood. Confirming them is not so easy. Our ancestral immigration and invading patterns happened a very long time ago.

Suellen Ocean is the author of Secret GenealogyA How-to for Tracing Ancient Jewish Ancestry, Secret Genealogy IIUncovering the Jewish Roots of Our Christian Ancestors and Secret Genealogy III From Jewish Anglo-Saxon Tribes to New France Acadians. Available here:

Secret Genealogy:  http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Genealogy-Volume-Suellen-Ocean/dp/0965114082

Secret Genealogy II:  http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Genealogy-II-Christian-Ancestors/dp/1484053222

Secret Genealogy III:  http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Genealogy-III-Jewish-Anglo-Saxon-Acadians/dp/148407579X

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Hi, I just found your site this evening. Very interesting read. I have Rh negative blood and required shots when I had our children as hubby is positive. And it just so happens that there is Moorish ancestry in my family, the Sauliniers, who were originally Moors, but became Hugenots. Complicated, I know…. Anyway, just wondering if you have a video I could watch regarding your material, as most of my friends are interested in the subject you have researched. BTW, my background is Acadian and French Canadian. It has come to my attention that some of my ancestors may have been crypto Jews, Canadian Anusim.

    I have since started following Yeshua, trying my best to live as He would have lived out His Hebrew (Jewish) life.

    Shalom.

    T

    Like

    • > And it just so happens that there is Moorish ancestry in my family, the Sauliniers, who were originally Moors, but became Hugenots.

      Very interesting. I have Huguenot ancestry too.

      No video, just my “Secret Genealogy” series of books that explore the past, including a little of the rh factor.

      Thanks for your input!

      Suellen

      Like

Leave a Reply

